Outliers By Malcolm Gladwell

outliers

 

I’m late to the Malcom Gladwell party. His books had caught my eye in the past but I didn’t pick up “Blink” or “The Tipping Point”. I guess the buzz of those two made me pick up “Outliers”.

It was a good read, but in the end it left me a little disappointed. “Outliers” is an easy read in that you don’t feel like you’re reading a textbook even though there are a lot of statistics and scholorly quotes thrown at you. But his theories just seem a little weak to me. He gives you hard stats but it’s all tied very loosely together.

One of his ‘theories’ was that, in short, children in middle class families do better in school than children from lower class households. I didn’t need to read fifteen pages to come to that conclusion.

With all of that being said, I just picked up a copy of “The Tipping Point”.

GRADE: B-

Leave a Reply

